Chateau Fonbadet

Appellation : Pauillac

In the North of the small village of Saint-Lambert, the Château Fonbadet occupies a soil of choice, enclosed between the biggest of the naming Pauillac that are Château Mouton-Rothschild, Château Latour, Châteaux Pichon Longueville Baron and Comtesse. The Peyronie family, the current owner, can call upon very old roots vine growers because already present on the soil pauillacais in 1700. About two hundred years later, at the beginning of the XXth century, the back grandfather of Mister Pierre Peyronie is then a manager of the Château Lafite-Rothschild whereas that of his wife Jany occupies the same function to the Château Mouton-Rothschild. At the end of the 30s, Robert Peyronie begins to establish a vineyard from vineyards at the edge of the disappearance or sold by auction, as Fonbadet, The Tour Duroc Milon or Château Pauillac. He intensifies his acquisitions of vines in the next days of the second world conflict and gives the brand of Fonbadet to his best vintages. Today, and after more than ten years beside his father Pierre Peyronie, Pascale, jurist of formation took the continuation allying the respect for the traditions and the use of modern technics.

Chateau Fonbadet

Appellation : Pauillac

In the North of the small village of Saint-Lambert, the Château Fonbadet occupies a soil of choice, enclosed between the biggest of the naming Pauillac that are Château Mouton-Rothschild, Château Latour, Châteaux Pichon Longueville Baron and Comtesse. The Peyronie family, the current owner, can call upon very old roots vine growers because already present on the soil pauillacais in 1700. About two hundred years later, at the beginning of the XXth century, the back grandfather of Mister Pierre Peyronie is then a manager of the Château Lafite-Rothschild whereas that of his wife Jany occupies the same function to the Château Mouton-Rothschild. At the end of the 30s, Robert Peyronie begins to establish a vineyard from vineyards at the edge of the disappearance or sold by auction, as Fonbadet, The Tour Duroc Milon or Château Pauillac. He intensifies his acquisitions of vines in the next days of the second world conflict and gives the brand of Fonbadet to his best vintages. Today, and after more than ten years beside his father Pierre Peyronie, Pascale, jurist of formation took the continuation allying the respect for the traditions and the use of modern technics.

The owner's pitch.

“I was born in the estate, like Obélix I “fell” intothe magic potion when I was little. From my grand parents to my parents who were vinegrower, it did not take long to realize I was made for this life. After a ten years collaboration with my father, I am taking care with a lot of enthusiasm of the future of Fonbadet.”
Pascale Peyronie

Focus on the Chateau.

Surface area

20 hectares

Wine types

Red

Ageing

18 months
In oak barrels
50% new per year

Grape varieties

60% Cabernet Sauvignon
20% Merlot
15% Cabernet Franc
5% Petit Verdot

Environmental protection

AREA II – HEV 2

Open for tours

By appointment

Wines.

Beautiful dark red presentation with shiny violine reflections. In the nose Château Fonbadet expresses intense aromas of blackcurrant, black cherries intertwined with more floral notes like violet but also finely roasted with toast and spices. The palate is elegant and delicate with a velvety texture. All supported by a freshness giving length to the whole.

How to contact the Chateau.

Address
47 route des Châteaux
33250 Pauillac
France

Phone
+33 5 56 59 02 11

E-mail
contact@chateaufonbadet.com

Château Fonbadet

Appellation : Pauillac

Au nord du petit village de Saint-Lambert, le Château Fonbadet occupe un terroir de choix, situé entre les plus grands crus de l’appellation Pauillac que sont Château Mouton Rothschild, Château Latour, Châteaux Pichon Longueville Baron et Comtesse. La famille Peyronie, actuelle propriétaire, peut invoquer de très anciennes racines vigneronnes puisque déjà présente sur le terroir pauillacais en 1700. Quelque deux cents ans plus tard, au début du XXème siècle, l’arrière grand-père de Monsieur Pierre Peyronie est alors régisseur du Château Lafite-Rothschild tandis que celui de son épouse Jany occupe la même fonction au Château Mouton-Rothschild. Dés la fin des années 30, Robert Peyronie entreprend de se constituer un vignoble à partir de Crus au bord de la disparition ou vendus aux enchères, comme Fonbadet, La Tour Duroc Milon ou Château Pauillac. Il intensifie ses acquisitions de vignes aux lendemains du second conflit mondial et donne la marque de Fonbadet à ses meilleures cuvées. Aujourd’hui, et après plus de dix ans aux côtés de son père Pierre Peyronie, Pascale, juriste de formation a pris la suite alliant le respect des traditions et l’utilisation de techniques modernes.

Château Fonbadet

Appellation : Pauillac

Au nord du petit village de Saint-Lambert, le Château Fonbadet occupe un terroir de choix, situé entre les plus grands crus de l’appellation Pauillac que sont Château Mouton Rothschild, Château Latour, Châteaux Pichon Longueville Baron et Comtesse. La famille Peyronie, actuelle propriétaire, peut invoquer de très anciennes racines vigneronnes puisque déjà présente sur le terroir pauillacais en 1700. Quelque deux cents ans plus tard, au début du XXème siècle, l’arrière grand-père de Monsieur Pierre Peyronie est alors régisseur du Château Lafite-Rothschild tandis que celui de son épouse Jany occupe la même fonction au Château Mouton-Rothschild. Dés la fin des années 30, Robert Peyronie entreprend de se constituer un vignoble à partir de Crus au bord de la disparition ou vendus aux enchères, comme Fonbadet, La Tour Duroc Milon ou Château Pauillac. Il intensifie ses acquisitions de vignes aux lendemains du second conflit mondial et donne la marque de Fonbadet à ses meilleures cuvées. Aujourd’hui, et après plus de dix ans aux côtés de son père Pierre Peyronie, Pascale, juriste de formation a pris la suite alliant le respect des traditions et l’utilisation de techniques modernes.

Le mot du propriétaire.

« Je suis née dans le domaine viticole, comme Obélix, petit, était tombé dans la potion magique. De grands-parents viticulteurs aux parents viticulteurs, je n’ai pas mis longtemps à découvrir que j’étais faite pour ce monde là. Après une collaboration de 10 ans avec mon père, je m’occupe aujourd’hui avec enthousiasme de la destinée de Fonbadet. »
Pascale Peyronie

Zoom sur le Château.

Surface

20 hectares

Couleurs

Rouge

Élevage

18 mois
En fûts de chêne
50% neufs / an

Cépages

60% Cabernet Sauvignon
20% Merlot
15% Cabernet Franc
5% Petit Verdot

Démarches environnementales

AREA II – HVE 2

Ouvert au public

Sur rendez-vous

Le vin.

Belle présentation rouge sombre avec des reflets violines brillants. Au nez Château Fonbadet exprime des arômes intenses de cassis, de cerises noires entremêlés de notes plus florales comme la violette mais aussi finement torréfiées de pain grillé et d’épices. La bouche est élégante et délicate avec une texture veloutée. Le tout soutenu par une fraîcheur donnant de la longueur à l’ensemble.

Contacter le Château.

Adresse
47 route des Châteaux
33250 Pauillac

Téléphone
05 56 59 02 11

Mail
contact@chateaufonbadet.com