Clos Puy Arnaud

Appellation : Castillon – Côtes de Bordeaux

The Clos Puy Arnaud estate is a vineyard with a recognized potential since the XIX century (“1er cru” in the Féret Guide 1874). After its purchase in 2000, Thierry Valette, the current owner, has undergone a transition to a more durable and respectful agriculture for the environment and the human. Then, the 14 ha-vineyard is managed as biodynamic since 2007. By this way, we are enhancing the beautiful asteriated limestone terroir close from Saint-Emilion appellation. This philosophy of detail is preserved in the winery. From the harvest to the ageing, each step is thoroughly proceed to obtain the precision in our wines.

Clos Puy Arnaud

Appellation : Castillon – Côtes de Bordeaux

The Clos Puy Arnaud estate is a vineyard with a recognized potential since the XIX century (“1er cru” in the Féret Guide 1874). After its purchase in 2000, Thierry Valette, the current owner, has undergone a transition to a more durable and respectful agriculture for the environment and the human. Then, the 14 ha-vineyard is managed as biodynamic since 2007. By this way, we are enhancing the beautiful asteriated limestone terroir close from Saint-Emilion appellation. This philosophy of detail is preserved in the winery. From the harvest to the ageing, each step is thoroughly proceed to obtain the precision in our wines.

The owner's pitch.

“When I took over the Clos Puy Arnaud, I had an accurate goal in my mind: redefine the Bordeaux style. We are looking to draw the unique energy upon our terroir in order to pass it on our wines. But we are not only creating high-grade wines, you could find pleasurable wine for every day. After years of revitalizing of this biotope, we have finally reached the aimed expression: a complex aromatic freshness, electric, creative and honest wines. I like to use this quote from André Pierre-Dac, “If the truth is in the Wine, do not look for it anywhere else”. And this is the truth I am pursuing.”
Thierry Valette

Focus on the Chateau.

Surface area

14 hectares

Wine types

Red
Rosé

Ageing

Stainless steel, concrete tanks, amphorae, wood barrels

Grape varieties

Merlot
Cabernet Franc
Cabernet Sauvignon

Environmental protection

Organic Agriculture – Biodyvin – Demeter

Open for tours

By appointment

Wines.

The Grand Vin is the climax of the Clos Puy Arnaud estate product range. A delightful harmony of flowers and dark fruits like sloe will fill the mouth. Without any disturbance, a spicy flavour of liquorice will bring the all to a higher level. Large tannins are the first to caress you mouth by their velvety texture, followed with a delicate minerality. It is a wine of meticulous accuracy which could be kept for 15 years, even more in prestigious vintage. The Grand Vin pairs well with a leg of 7 hours or a duck confit. You could even try a simple chicken with some sauce.

How to contact the Chateau.

Address
7 Puy Arnaud
33350 Belves-de-Castillon

Phone
+33 5 57 47 90 33

E-mail
contact.cpa@orange.fr

Social media

Clos Puy Arnaud

Appellation : Castillon – Côtes de Bordeaux

Le Clos Puy Arnaud est un vignoble avec un potentiel déjà reconnu dès le XIXème siècle (1er Cru au guide Féret 1874). Après son acquisition en 2000, Thierry Valette entreprend une transition vers une agriculture plus respectueuse de l’environnement et des Hommes. Ainsi, le vignoble de 14 ha est conduit depuis 2007 en biodynamie permettant de sublimer ce terroir de calcaire à astéries qui jouxte l’appellation Saint-Émilion. Cette philosophie du détail est conservée dans le chai. De la récolte manuelle à l’élevage, chaque étape est réalisée avec minutie pour atteindre cette précision dans nos vins.

Clos Puy Arnaud

Appellation : Castillon – Côtes de Bordeaux

Le Clos Puy Arnaud est un vignoble avec un potentiel déjà reconnu dès le XIXème siècle (1er Cru au guide Féret 1874). Après son acquisition en 2000, Thierry Valette entreprend une transition vers une agriculture plus respectueuse de l’environnement et des Hommes. Ainsi, le vignoble de 14 ha est conduit depuis 2007 en biodynamie permettant de sublimer ce terroir de calcaire à astéries qui jouxte l’appellation Saint-Émilion. Cette philosophie du détail est conservée dans le chai. De la récolte manuelle à l’élevage, chaque étape est réalisée avec minutie pour atteindre cette précision dans nos vins.

Le mot du propriétaire.

« Lorsque j’ai repris le Clos Puy Arnaud, c’était avec un objectif bien précis en tête : redéfinir le style à la Bordelaise. Nous cherchons à puiser l’énergie si particulière de notre terroir pour la transmettre dans nos vins. Mais ce n’est pas que des grands vins de garde que nous créons, vous y trouverez aussi des vins de plaisirs pour toutes les occasions. Après des années de revitalisation de ce biotope, nous avons enfin atteint l’expression tant souhaitée : des vins sur une fraîcheur aromatique complexe, électriques, créatifs et honnêtes. J’aime emprunter cette expression d’André Pierre-Dac : Si la vérité est dans le vin, qu’elle y reste. Et c’est cette vérité que je poursuis. »
Thierry Valette

Zoom sur le Château.

Surface

14 hectares

Couleurs

Rouge
Rosé

Élevage

Inox, cuve béton, amphores
(grès, terre cuite, porcelaine),
bois (barriques, demi-muids)

Cépages

Merlot
Cabernet Franc
Cabernet Sauvignon

Démarches environnementales

AB – Biodyvin – Demeter

Ouvert au public

Sur rendez-vous

Le vin.

Le Grand Vin est l’apothéose des cuvées du Clos Puy Arnaud. Une charmante harmonie florale, et des fruits sombres comme la prunelle, viendront emplir le palais. Le tout est rehaussée par un parfum épicé de réglisse. En bouche, c’est une texture tannique soyeuse qui nous accueille, agrémentée par la minéralité si distincte de ce terroir. C’est un vin d’une méticuleuse précision qui se garde jusqu’à 15 ans voire plus dans les grandes années. Le Grand Vin se mariera avec merveille à un gigot de 7h ou un confit de canard. Pour rester dans le classique, une volaille en sauce conviendra parfaitement.

Contacter le Château.

Adresse
7 Puy Arnaud
33350 Belves-de-Castillon

Téléphone
05 57 47 90 33

Mail
contact.cpa@orange.fr

Réseaux sociaux